Prof Evangelos Liberopoulos

University of Athens, Greece


Prof Evangelos Liberopoulos is an Internist-Lipidologist-Diabetologist. He was born in Athens in 1972. He graduated from the University of Ioannina Medical School, Ioannina, Greece. He specialized in lipid disorders and cardiovascular disease prevention at the Royal Free Hospital, UCL, London, UK, and in diabetes at the Diabetology Centre of ‘Laikon’ General Hospital of Athens.

He currently serves as a Professor of Medicine-Metabolic Diseases in the School of Medicine, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece, and 1st Propedeutic Department of Medicine, General Hospital of Athens ‘Laiko’. His main academic and clinical interests include dyslipidemia, atherosclerosis, cardiovascular disease prevention and diabetes. He has published 280 papers in international peer-reviewed journals with >10,000 citations and an H factor of 56.

Prof Liberopoulos is a member of the writing committee for guidelines issued by the Hellenic Diabetes Association and the Hellenic Atherosclerosis Society. He has given over 500 talks in national and international meetings on topics related to cardiovascular disease prevention. He is the principal investigator of several large, randomized trials in lipids and cardiovascular disease prevention. He was the National Lead Investigator for the ODYSSEY OUTOMES trial. He is currently the National Leader for the HELLAS-FH registry and member of the Steering Committee of Familial Hypercholesterolemia Studies Collaboration (FHSC).

As member of the Executive Committee (2010-today) and past-president of the Hellenic Atherosclerosis Society (HAS) (2019-2022), Prof Liberopoulos has co-organised several scientific activities with EAS. He worked closely and successfully with EAS for Athens to be nominated as host of the 2026 EAS Congress.

Current positions

(Information on all positions, both within companies and other Societies)


  • None

Other Societies

  • Hellenic Atherosclerosis Society (past president 2019-2022, member of the EC 2023-)

EAS Executive Committee Members >