Anitschkow Prize

About the Prize

The EAS Anitschkow Prize is the Society’s most prestigious distinction, awarded to outstanding scientists in the area of atherosclerosis and linked metabolic disturbances. The recipient of the Prize receives the Anitschkow Medal, an award of ten thousand Euros in recognition of their contribution to the study of atherosclerosis, presents the Anitschkow Lecture as part of the Opening Ceremony at EAS Congress, and is invited to write a review for the Society’s Journal, Atherosclerosis.

Previous Anitschkow Prize recipients are: Prof Bart Staels, France (2024), Prof Stephen Nicholls, Australia (2023), Prof Børge G. Nordestgaard, Denmark (2022), Prof Sir Rory Collins, UK (2021), Prof Joseph L. Witztum, USA (2020), Prof Helen Hobbs, USA (2019), Prof Anne Tybjærg-Hansen, Denmark (2018), Dr Alan Tall, the Tilden-Weger-Bieler, USA (2017), Prof Peter Carmeliet, Belgium (2016), Prof Aldons “Jake” Lusis, USA (2015), Prof John Kastelein, The Netherlands, (2014), Prof Peter Libby, USA (2013), Prof Terje R Pedersen, Norway (2012), Prof Philip Barter, Australia (2011), Prof Michael Brown, USA (2010), Prof Jean-Claude Fruchart, France (2008), and Prof Göran Hansson, Sweden (2007).

Anitschkow Prize 2025

Call for nominations for the 2025 Anitschkow Prize will open September 2 – October 14, 2024.
Read about the Prize, the criteria and process for nominations below.
The winner will be announced January 2025.


Nominees should fulfil these criteria:

  • Recognised for his/her research in the area of atherosclerosis and linked metabolic disturbances
  • Has made outstanding novel contributions to and an impact on the discipline to date
  • Has an excellent track record of publications in the atherosclerosis area
  • Is currently an active researcher
  • Is eligible according to the table below

Nomination Process

  • Candidate nominations may be submitted by an EAS member, and should be supported (seconded) by a peer
  • Candidate nominations will be evaluated by an independent review panel, according to the criteria given above
  • Check the table below to make sure;
    • you are eligible to nominate
    • your nominee is eligible to be considered for the Prize

Table of eligibility – nominators & nominees

EAS Committee members
May nominate/
if nominated
Executive Committee member
(current & until 1 year after their term is over)
Congress CommitteeYESYES
Award CommitteeYESNO
Election CommitteeYESYES
Web Education CommitteeYESYES
Corporate Activities CommitteeYESYES
Anitschkow JuryNONO
Others closely associated with EAS
Consensus Panel Co-ChairYESYES
FHSC leadershipYESYES
Special AdvisorYESYES
EC member spouse/partnerYESYES
Journal Editor in Chief and co-editorsYESNO
Congress ChairYESYES


  • The Society’s Executive Committee will evaluate whether a nominees meets the criteria of eligibility
  • Eligible nominations will be reviewed by the independent Anitschkow Jury