EAS Award Committee

With the annual Young Investigator Awards for outstanding publications, EAS recognizes distinction that contributes to the advancement of knowledge in the field of atherosclerosis and linked metabolic disturbances. The EAS Award Committee review and evaluate the nominations.


  • Nomination review
    The committee reviews nominated papers submitted for the Young Investigator Award in basic and clinical science.
  • Selection process
    Based on the established criteria for each award, the committee selects recipients who best exemplify excellence, innovation, or significant contributions in their respective fields or areas of expertise.
  • Fair and impartial evaluation
    The committee ensures that the selection process is fair, transparent, and impartial, considering all relevant factors without bias or prejudice.
  • Confidentiality
    Members of the committee maintain strict confidentiality regarding the nomination and selection process.

Appointment of Committee Members

  • The Executive Committee shall appoint the one to two chairs and four members of the Committee to serve during a period of 4 years.
  • The Executive Committee aims for a balance of gender, expertise and geographical areas throughout Europe when considering candidates for Committee members.

Previous committee members

2017-2020Petri KovanenFinlandChair
2017-2020Christoph BinderAustriaCo-chair
2017-2020Jan-Albert Kuivenhoventhe NetherlandsMember
2017-2020Geesje Dallinga Thiethe NetherlandsMember
2017-2020Andrew NewbyUKMember
2017-2020Olov WiklundSwedenMember

Contact at the EAS Office

Tania Börjesson
Governance Manager