Certificate of Excellence in Lipidology

This programme will improve clinical care of patients with cardiovascular disease or in cardiovascular prevention; furthermore researchers in clinical science, epidemiology and translational cardiovascular research will obtain valuable knowledge which will improve research in their field.

EAS Office · May 10, 2021

EAS Certificate of Excellence in Lipidology (Update 2021) is a fully-updated, comprehensive teaching programme for medical specialists, which includes 2019 ESC/EAS Guidelines on management of dyslipidaemias. The Programme covers fundamental and state-of-the-art developments in clinical lipidology, with focus on its role in cardiovascular disease.

The Programme is accredited by UEMS, and participants can claim CME credits from EACCME®.

Since atherosclerotic vascular disease is very prevalent, clinicians very frequently face problems about how to deal with different aspects of it. This programme will improve clinical care of patients with cardiovascular disease or in cardiovascular prevention; furthermore researchers in clinical science, epidemiology and translational cardiovascular research will obtain valuable knowledge which will improve research in their field.


Compulsory online interactive, narrated modules 20 to 30 minutes in length, with pre- and post-presentation questions for each module.

Participants in this Programme will improve their understanding of the role of lipids in health and disease on several different levels. These different levels include:

  • basic understanding of lipids chemistry and lipoprotein metabolism,
  • the role of lipids as risk factors,
  • the mechanisms of lipids in cardiovascular disease,
  • understanding of lipid disorders and the role of genetics and environmental factors,
  • pharmacological interventions against lipid disorders,
  • the clinical development of lipids,
  • lipid-lowering treatment in cardiovascular prevention and the development of new therapeutic targets.

Understanding the role of lipids in health and disease is important for a broad spectrum of different professionals working in health care and in society at large.

This programme is primarily suited to physicians in internal medicine, cardiology, diabetology, endocrinology and in general practice.

Outside this group, this educational programme is highly relevant to nurses working in lipid clinics, in cardiovascular prevention, in diabetes and in many other clinics training care of patients with cardiovascular or metabolic diseases.

Others who will find the educational content of this programme highly relevant include scientists working in cardiovascular epidemiology and in basic cardiovascular research, and persons employed in the pharma industry.

EAS Certificate of Excellence in Lipidology (2021 Update) (ELM19-A00022) has been accredited by the EACCME®, the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME) to provide the following CME activity for medical specialists.

Each medical specialist should claim only those credits that he/she actually spent in the educational activity.

The EACCME is an institution of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS). Only those e-learning materials that are displayed on the UEMS-EACCME website have formally been accredited.

Through an agreement between the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) and the American Medical Association (AMA), physicians may convert EACCME credits to an equivalent number of AMA PRA Category 1 Credits(TM).

Information on the process to convert EACCME credit to AMA credit can be found at www.ama-assn.org/education/earn-credit-participation-international-activities.

ACLF – Acute on Chronic Liver Failure
Acrp30 – Adiponectin
ACS – Acute Coronary Syndrome
ADA – American Diabetes Association
ADMA – asymmetrical dimethylarginine
AGE – Advanced glycation end product
AGEs – Advanced Glycation Endproducts
AGI – Alpha Glucosidase Inhibitors
alpha 2-beta AR – alpha 2-beta adrenergic receptors
ALT – Alanine Aminotransferase
AMPK – Adenosine Monophosphate activated Protein Kinase
apM1 – Adiponectin
ARB – Angiotensin Receptor Blocker
ATP III – Adult Treatment Panel
BAD – Brachial Artery Distensibility
BCDI – Beta-Cell Demand Index
BCS – Budd-Chiari Syndrome
BDA – British Diabetic Association
BIP – Bezafibrate Infarction Prevention
BMI – Body Mass Index
CAD – Coronary Artery Disease
cccDNA – closed circular DNA
CCK – Cholecystokinin
CHD – Coronary Heart Disease
CHF – Congestive Heart Failure
CLA – Conjugated Linoleic Acid
CNTF – Ciliary Neurotrophic Factor
CRP – C reactive protein
CVD – cardiovascular disease
DASIMAR – the summed product of ADMA and SDMA
DASIMAR – score
DASIMAR – score of the sum of DAS and IMAR
DKA – Diabetic Ketoacidosis
DM – diabetes mellitus
DPP – Diabetes Prevention Program
EBL – Endoscopic band ligation
EGIR – European Group for the study of Insulin Resistance
EWET – Enlarged Waist with Elevated Triacylglycerols
FA – Fatty Acid
FAAH – Fatty Acid Amide Hydrolase
FBG – fasting blood glucose
FDA – Food and Drug Agency
FFAs – Free Fatty Acids
FIAF – Fasting Induced Adipose Factor
FMD – Flow-Mediated Dilation
FPG – fasting plasma glucose
FPI – Fasting Plasma Insulin
GI – Glycemic Index
GIK Therapy – Glucose-Insulin-Potassium Therapy
HbA1c – Glycosylated Hemoglobin A1C
HDL – high-density lipoprotein
HMO – Health Maintenance Organization
HOMA – Homeostasis Model Assessment
HPA – Hypothalamic-Pituitary-Adrenal
HRS – hepatorenal syndrome
HVPG – hepatic venous pressure gradient
IAPP – islet amyloid polypeptide
ICCU – Intensive Cardiac Care Unit
IDF – International Diabetes Federation
IFH – isolated fasting hyperglycemia
IGR – impaired glucose regulation
IGT – impaired glucose tolerance
IL-6 – Interleukin-6
IMCL – Intramyocellular Lipids
IMT – Intima-media Thickness
IPH – isolated postchallenge hyperglycemia
IPMN – intraductal papillary mucinous neoplasm
LDL – low-density lipoprotein
LDLT – Living donor liver transplantation
MGSD – Mediterranean Group for the Study of Diabetes
MI – Myocardial Infarction
NCEP – National Cholesterol Education Program
NGR – Normal glucose regulation
NGT – Normal glucose tolerance
NHS – Nurses’ Health Study
OGTT – Oral Glucose Tolerance Test
PAI-1 – Plasminogen Activator Inhibitor Type 1
PGC-1 alpha – peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor gamma coactivator-1 alpha
PMN – Polymorphonuclear Neutrophil
PPAR gamma – peroxisome proliferator activated receptors
PPG – Postprandial Glucose
PSA – Prostate specific antigen
PWV – Pulse Wave Velocity
PWV – Pulse Wave Velocity
QOL – Quality of life
RAGE – Receptor for AGE
RAI – Radioactive iodine
RAI Scanning – Radioactive Iodine Scanning
RECIST – Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors
RNAi – RNA interference
RR – Relative risk
RXR – retinoid X receptors
SAA – Serum Amyloid A
SADLE – San Antonio Diabetes Likelihood Equation
SCL – Sclerotherapy
SDMA – symmetric dimethylarginine
SIRS – Systemic inflammatory response syndrome
SOFA – Sepsis-related Organ Failure Assessment
SU – sulfonylurea
T2D – type 2 diabetes
T4/T3 – Thyroxine
TERalb – Transcapillary Escape Rate of Albumin
TG – triglyceride
TIPS – Transjugular intrahepatic portosystemic shunt
TNF-alpha – Tumor Necrosis Factor alpha
TZD – Thiazolidinedione
UCP2 – Uncoupling Protein 2
VIP – Vasterbotten Intervention Program
VSMC – Vascular Smooth Muscle Cells
WC – Waist Circumference
WHO – World Health Organization

Course Content

Expand All

About Instructor

EAS Office

9 Courses

Not Enrolled

Course Includes

  • 11 Modules
  • 46 Steps
  • 21 Tests
  • Course Certificate